“Education is our passport to the future, for tomorrow belongs to the people who prepare for it today.” Malcolm X

ReFashioning-Race-header

AGE

The generation we grow up in experiences the world in its own unique way.

A person of my age is my older brother named Ali who is one year older than me. He is the one who I shared many of my experiences of the world with such as my first day of elementary school, first time on a roller coaster, and even my first day of college. My brother is the one who guides me when I am in trouble, he supports me but like all brothers he loves to tease me whenever he has a chance.

RACE

How society views the characteristics that result from genetic similarities.

I am seen as belonging to the South East Asian race because I was born and raised in Pakistan. I have genetic similarities as many people who are from Pakistan such as my skin color of light brown, my dark brown eyes, and black hair.

NATIONALITY AND ETHNICITY

How we talk about ourselves as citizens of a certain country, or as a people with a common heritage of culture, belief and language.

As a ___Canadian Citizen__ (nationality), I have learned how to respect the multicultural society that I live in, to appreciate the variety of festivals and to create bonds of friendship with people who have lived in different parts of the world where I have never traveled to.  Also, I have learned to enjoy the many different cultures, the variety of foods and traditions others follow. I have a passion to learn about the many different religions that could be found in the multicultural society because it fascinates me of the strong beliefs people have for their religion and how it is very similar to the way I feel for the religion that I follow.

 

Leave a comment